A part of Indiaonline network Empowering Local Businesses
Home city guide memorials in patna

Shaheed Smarak in Patna

Shaheed Smarak or Martyr’s Memorial

This  is a life-size statue of seven freedom fighters who were gunned down by the British police during the Quit India Movement in 1942. These brave students were carrying the Congress flag to hoist on the top of Old Secretariat building.

Martyr’s Memorial of Patna

The statue shows one carrying the flag and the other six were falling down or about to fall to the bullets of the British police. The statue depicts these courageous men were still marching ahead to the top facing the bullets with pride. It was on the request of the then governor of Bihar, Jairam Das Daulatram that the sculptor Debi Prasad Roy Chaudhary built this statue that marks the determination of those brave souls and their love for the country. The foundation stone of Shaheed Smarak was laid on August 15, 1947 by Daulatram and was inaugurated by the first President of India, Rajendra Prasad in 1956. An adjacent park next to the statue was built in the later years. The park was named Amar Jyoti. The Department of post issued a stamp in memory of the young martyrs.

This martyrs were:
  • Umakant Prasad Sinha (Raman Ji) - Ram Mohan Roy Seminary, class IX
  • Ramanand Singh - Ram Mohan Roy Seminary, class IX
  • Satish Prasad Jha - Patna Collegiate School, class X
  •  Jagatpati Kumar - Bihar National College
  • Devipada Choudhry - Miller High English School
  •  Rajendra Singh - Patna High English School, matric class X
  • Ramgovind Singh - Punpun High English School, matric class IX

How to Reach

One can easily reach the place by cabs and auto rickshaws. Mithapur Bus stand is the nearest one. Patna Junction is at a distance of 2 km and Airport is 6 km.

The State Assembly is 25 m away from Shaheed Smarak.

Kargil Chowk Memorial In  Patna

It was established in 2000 and it is  a War Memorial. It is located near the Gandhi Maidan, Patna.This  is to dedicate for the soldiers from Bihar and Jharkhand, who sacrificed for the Kargil War, due to the infiltration of the Pakisthani army, in 1999. The following names of the martyrs are engraved in the Kargil Chowk.
Major Chandrabhushan Divedi
General Digambar Dixit, Palamu
General Prabhakar Kumar Singh, Bhagalpur
Nayak Ganesh Prasad Yadav, Patna
Lance Naik Rambachan Rai, Vaishali
Lance Naik Vidyanand Singh, Bhojpur
Naik Bishuni Rai, Saran
Naik Subedar Nageshwar Mahato, Ranchi
Naik Neeraj Kumar, Lakhisarai
Naik Sunil Kumar Singh, Muzaffarpur
Havaldar Ratan Kumar Singh, Bhagalpur
Sepoy Hardeo Prasad Singh, Nalanda
Sepoy Rambhu Singh, Siwan
Sepoy Arvind Kumar Pandey, Poorvi Champaran
Sepoy Pramod Kumar, Poorvi Champaran
Sepoy Arvind Kumar Pandey, Poorvi Champaran
Sepoy Raman Kumar Jha, Saharanpur
Sepoy Harikrishna Ram, Sivan

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries