A part of Indiaonline network Empowering Local Businesses
Home city guide municipal corporation

Patna Municipal Corporation (PMC)

PMC was established in 1952. It is the principal nodal agency for Patna’s administration. It has the responsibility of overall development and management of the city. The Municipal Commissioner is the head of the body..

There is one representative, called the Councillor from each ward, who gets send to an election.The legislative part of the Corporation is formed by the Mayor and Deputy  Mayor , being selected by the Councillors. The corporation has an empowered Standing Committee, composed of seven ward Councillors, Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

Afjal Imam is the Mayor of PMC and Kuldip Narayan is the Commissioner.

The seven wings of the Corporation are:

  • Head Office
  • Planning & Development
  • Water Supply
  • New Capital Circle
  • Kankarbagh Wing
  • Bankipur Circle
  • Patna City Circle
The municipal corporation is in charge of educational facilities, finances, water supply facilities, health and sanitation schemes, planning of the city, collection of revenue, issuing of birth and death certificate, etc. The development of the city is reflected by  the achievement of the corporation. With the city expanding fast, it has become really difficult for the body to provide best services to certain areas.
Each ward sends the Councillor, a representtative to the Corporation through an election. The Councillors selects among themselves a Mayor and a Deputy Mayor, forming the legislative part of the Corporation.The corporation handles 44 parks, in the city. The PMC has 72 wards and 4 circles. Each circle is managed by an Executive officer ,who is deputed by the State Government.Each circle has Assistant Health Officer to view the sanitation work.

The circles are :

•New Capital Circle
•Kankarbagh Circle
•Bankipore Circle
•Patna City Circle

New Capital Circle
This is one of the the biggest circles. The important wards in this circle are Bailey Road, Boring Road and Khaipura area,  Kunj and Rajiv Nagar area, Station area and the Gandhi Maidan Area.
Kankarbagh Circle :
The main area covered under this circle is the Bypass Road Area, Kankarbagh Road area, Chirayyar railways bridge area , Gandhi Setu and Saidpur areas.
Bankipore Circles
The main area covered is Ashok Rajpath Area. The other areas covered are Saidpur main drain area, Bakerganj area, Gandhi ghat and Bari Path area.
Patna City
The main area covered is Gaighat area, Dandi bazaar, Mahatma Gandi Setu, New Bypass Road, Patna Ghat and Mal Godam.

PMC comprises of nine departments. They are as follows :

•Engineering Department
The infrastructure development of the city, which includes road development, sewages, water supply systems, public amenities, construction and also maintenance of the government quarters.
•Revenue Department
This department is responsible for collecting revenues and tax impositions, over a list of items. They are the collectors of water tax, property tax, tax on consumption of electricity and entertainment tax and so on.
•Urban Planning Department
The department is responsible for the proper planning of the area and  the successful implementation of the  Master Plan.They include newly added areas in planning.
•Water Supply Department
It is responsible for the water supply for the region, water being one of the basic necessity of life. Deep pumps have been dug in various parts of the region, It is also responsible for sending the water tanks, in areas where there is scarcity of water.
•Education Department
The major thrust area is eradication of  illiteracy in the region and providing educational opportunities, particularly in backward areas.
•Health and Sanitation Department
It works towards healthcare system and the proper sanitation and the hygiene in the city.
The prevention and control of communicable diseases is one of the focus areas for the health schemes, floated by the government. It takes care of the children and women and keeps the city neat and clean.
•Finance & Accounts Department
This department is for the maintenance of the records of income and expenditure and This department is for the maintenance of the records of income and expenditure and preparing for the estimates for the grants for primary school and the developmental work for the slum dwellers.
•Legal Department:
This arranges for the agreements, memorandum, lease and all other legalities for the PMC.
•Estate Department:
This deals with the lease / renewal of the plots, recovery of the rents etc. of the Corporation.

The state government and PMC work closely for the development and faster growth of the city. The corporation was awarded by the United Nations for the projects undertaken by them in making the city a better place to live in.

The awards won by the PMC are :

The award from United Nations and Self assessment scheme and others.


Head Office
Budh Marg,
Ph: 0612- 2222098

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries